Kamarer Youth Soloist Competition

The John Kamarer Youth Soloist Competition

Before his untimely death, John Kamarer was a long time member of the Peoria Municipal Band playing alto saxophone and serving as the band manager. John was also the band director at Central Junior High in District 86 for many years. His love of music and his desire to inspire young musicians lives on through this annual competition.

The 2022 John Kamarer Youth Soloist Competition was held on Saturday, June 4th at Dingeldine Music Center on the Bradley University campus. Congratulations to the 2022 winner, Noah Johnson.  Noah will be a senior this fall at Washington Community High School, where he has participated in Symphonic Winds, the Marching Panthers, and the Jazz Ensemble. He participated in the ILMEA district 4 honor band his previous three years in high school, as well as being selected for all-state his sophomore year. Noah won a soloist award at the Illinois State University jazz festival this spring and has received a best in room award at the IHSA Solo & Ensemble contest on an alto saxophone solo and a saxophone quartet. Outside of school, he has enjoyed playing with the Original Skazz Band for the past two years. He began playing tenor saxophone in 5th grade, and had the privilege of studying classical saxophone with Keith Zimmerman for a little over a year entering high school, during which he picked up the alto sax. Since Mr. Zimmerman’s untimely passing, Noah has been studying with Doug Stewart. Noah will attend a 4-year college after graduation, majoring in mechanical engineering while continuing to participate in music ensembles and play in his free time.

Past Winners

2021 – No Winner
2020 – No Winner
2019 – Michael John Paul Meyer, flute, Notre Dame High School
2018 – Amy Zhou, clarinet, Dunlap High School
2017 – Nathaniel Sanchez, oboe, Metamora High School
2016 – No Winner
2015 – Mallika Patel, flute, Metamora High School
2014 – No Winner
2013 – David Fenner, horn, Metamora High School
2012 – Mitch Lutz, clarinet, Morton High School
2011 – Colby Spengler, clarinet, Morton High School
2010 – Eileen Prescott, flute, Richwoods High School
2009 – William Butterfield III, trumpet, Richwoods High School
2008 – Dana Sloter, clarinet, Richwoods High School
2007 – Mark Donahue, clarinet, Morton High School
2006 – Emily Coon, flute, Morton High School
2005 – Brianna Gipp, oboe, Peoria Christian High School
2004 – Micah Lancaster, horn, Elvista Baptist Academey
2003 – Joshua Lancaster, trumpet, Elvista Baptist Academy
2002 – Kevin Moletti, trumpet, Dunlap High School
2001 – Samantha Inman, flute, Peoria Christian High School
2000 – Jeremy Clark, percussion, Manual High School
1999 – Sarah Robinson, trombone, Manual High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *